Gaily The Troubadour

By Thomas Haynes Bayler

Gaily the Toubadour
Touched his guitar
When he was hastening
Home from war:
Singing, “From Palestine
Hither I come,
Ladye love; ladye love;
Welcome me home,”
Singing, “From Palestine
Hither I come,
Ladye love! Kadye love!
Welcome me home.”

She for the Troubadour
Hopelessly wept,
Sadly she thought of him
When others slept;
Singing, “In search of thee,
Would I might roam!
Troubadour! Troubadour!
Come to thy home,”
Singing, “In search of thee,
Would I might roam!
Troubadour! Troubadour!
Come to thy home.”

Hark! ’twas the Troubadour
Breathing her name;
Under the battlements
Softly he came,
Singing, “From Palestine
Hither I come,
Ladye love! Ladye love!
Welcome me home,”
Singing, “From Palestine
Hither I come,
Ladye love; Ladye love;
Welcome me home.”

Leave a Reply

