Empty is the Cradle, Baby’s Gone

Little empty cradle, treasured now with care,
Though thy precious burden it has fled,
How we miss the locks of curly golden hair,
Peeping from the tiny show-white bed.
When those dimpled cheeks and little laughing eyes
From the rumpled pillow shone,
Then I gazed in gladness, now I look and sigh,
Empty is the cradle, baby ‘s gone.

Chorus:
Baby’s left her cradle for the Golden Shore,
O’er to join the angels, peaceful ever more,
Empty is the cradle, baby’s gone.

In a grassy valley is a mossy mound,
Underneath my little darling sleeps;
Blossoms sweet, and roses, cluster all around,
Overhead the willow, silent, weeps.
There I laid my loved one in the long ago,
And my heart doth sadly moan,
‘Tho’ she’s with the angels, still I fain would weep,
Empty is the cradle, baby’s gone.

Leave a Reply

