The Quilting Party

In the sky the bright stars glittered,
On the bank the pale moon shone;
And ’twas from Aunt Dinah’s quilting-party
I was seeing Nellie home.

Chorus
I was seeing Nellie home,
I was seeing Nellie home:
And ’twas from Aunt Dinah’s quilting-party
I was seeing Nellie home.

On my arm a soft hand rested,
Rested light as ocean’s foam
And ’twas from Aunt Dinah’s quilting-party
I was seeing Nellie home.

Chorus

On my lips a whisper trembled,
Trembled till it dared to come;
And ’twas from Aunt Dinah’s quilting-party
I was seeing Nellie home.

Chorus

On my life new hopes were dawning,
And those hopes have lived and grown;
And ’twas from Aunt Dinah’s quilting-party
I was seeing Nellie home.

Leave a Reply

